Hot Spot Check Up: Desk | Week 3

Every week I post about a clutter hot spot in my home. I’m currently working on my desk, including a box of paper clutter I filled up from the desk a few weeks ago. 

I started again with that paper clutter box. I haven’t touched it since last week, of course.  Except that one thing was added to the box. That’s not what’s supposed to happen!

Before:

I set the timer for 10 min. and went to work, with the same basic process that I used last week. I was moving a little slower today, so after 10 min. was done, I wanted to make more progress, so I set the timer for 5 more minutes. The recycle bag is not just from this week’s project. It includes papers from last week and some others from throughout the week.

After:

I gave myself 15 minutes to deal with my little piles and work on the desk itself. I was so excited to get to work on the desk, that I forgot to take a before picture, but here’s how it looked after that 15 minutes, plus I went just a few minutes over.

Desk:

My Take Action pile is there to the right of the computer, and some unopened mail is there on the left.

What I am learning:

  • I need to make time for actually dealing with the Take Action pile. You know, maybe I should spend some time taking action.
  • Blogging about my progress really motivates me!
  • If I keep the same pace on that paper clutter box, I should have it emptied in 2-3 weeks. I hope I can pick up the pace a little more!

What motivates you to work on paper clutter?


6 Comments on “Hot Spot Check Up: Desk | Week 3”

  1. Paper clutter is my achilles heel. I’m mega organised in the kitchen and with food, pretty organised everywhere else, but paper is my downfall! I posted early this year about my paper sentimental hoarding, I have mounds of paper to get through. All motivated I got it out of the cupboard, but have done nothing with it all year.
    I need to address it, I’m not sure what attachment or fear I have of paper! Well done on your progress, blogging sure does keep you on track! I know!

    • Your organization with food is amazing to me! I can’t get over your refrigerator. It makes me feel better to know that you struggle with paper. 🙂 I hope we can both make it through our stacks!

    • WilliamB says:

      Same here.
      Kitchen? Hyperorganized and I know the contents so well that I duplicate-buy maybe once a year.
      Freezer? All in the spreadsheet.
      Recipes? Cookbooks marked, specific recipes in spreadsheet.
      Clothes? Only as much as fits my closet/dresser, and rotated. Including spares.
      Book collection? Organized by subject matter, will computerize someday.

      Paper? Not so much. Best I can manage is mitigated chaos. Damn stuff accumulates, even after I stripped down the magazines to my bare minimum and got off junk mail lists. My most successful method is to divide into piles and take it one at a time (kinda like your 10 min at a time) but I’ve come to accept that my desk will never be clean.

  2. Kimberly says:

    Your “taking action” comment cracked me up! There is something rewarding about “taking action!” Maybe prioritize your pile, then tackle one a day?

    8) Your desk looks great!

  3. A Minimalist says:

    I started my clutter office more then one week ago and I still can put in order! Just got to know is the hardest part from the house…everything seems to have more value or future use! At least when u finish comes the easiest part 🙂

    Good luck,

    Take Care

    Daniel


Leave a comment