Play Date Clean Up | Before and After!

A couple of weeks ago I invited my MOPS group over for a play date. Doing things like that is a stretch for me, mostly because my home is not usually ready to be seen by the outside world. But I love having people over. I love connecting with people and having good conversations.

And I think it’s important to connect with people in person, and not just through email or Facebook.

I also know that inviting people over motivates me to clean.

I focused on the main floor of our home, which includes our living room, kitchen, and powder room. I was just hoping that there would be no desire or need for the guests to explore further.

I took lots of before and after shots, so here we go:

Before:

After (Yes, there is some hidden clutter here. I’m sooo sneaky.):

Before:

After (This project was done by the marvelous Mr. RSS.):

Living Room Before:

Living Room After:

Closet Area Before (This is actually taken mid-clean-up):

Closet Area After (This is one of my favorites!):

And I promise I didn’t just jam everything into that closet!

Before:

After:

Kitchen Before:

Kitchen After:

And if you are looking for a yummy Pumpkin Chocolate Chip muffin recipe, my friend Kristen over at The Fugal Girl can help you out!

The play date was fun!

Reflections:

  • Starting early was important, and helped a lot! Of course, things weren’t perfect, and I acted like a crazy lady for the last hour before they arrived. I know if everything was maintained better, that would make it much easier…. we’re working on it… slowly… and that’s OK.
  • I didn’t know where to start, so I just started by the front door. It worked.
  • I tried to focus on having some cleared horizontal surfaces. I learned this from my sister, and Rachel over at Small Notebook wrote a nice post on the topic. Any cleared surface really helps!
  • I want my home to be welcoming, not scary. I think I achieved that goal.

Other Updates:

  • I swept the floor while I was on the phone this week, without even thinking about it. Strange, but good!
  • I’m thinking about an experiment where I make myself go to bed at 10:00 PM for an entire week no matter what and see how it impacts my productivity.

I’m linking up with Orgjunkie’s 52 Weeks of Organizing!

 

8 Comments on “Play Date Clean Up | Before and After!”

  1. Kimberly says:

    Wow! Great job, Elizabeth! 8)

  2. Tiffany C. says:

    My favorite picture is the one that your husband uncovered your wedding picture. That put a smile on my face. And I bet the picture puts a smile on yours and your hubby’s! It’s the little things I guess. You did a great job!! My husband is very good about horizontal surfaces, and I tend to criticize the fact that I can’t even walk across the floor without stepping on something, so who cares if there is a shelf clean?! But I think you are right, it does help people feel more welcome, I should keep my mouth shut I guess!

  3. Kathlynn says:

    Love this post! Great job, Elizabeth. I’m a fan of clear horizontal surfaces, too ….not that you could tell to look at my house! : ) It’s a process. I’m excited to show off my newly cleared out kitchen! Need to check and see if I remembered to capture a few photo’s before. If so, I’ll snap some “after” shots too and share. Looking forward to this week’s menu and Hot Spot check up… Have a great week!

  4. Messy Wife says:

    Amazing before and after!

    I actually have so many horizontal surfaces to work on that it may take a few weeks before they are reasonably cleared…

  5. Sarah Godwin says:

    Awesome! Love the before and after pictures and your celebration of progress. As Flylady says, “Progress, not perfection.” Glad you were able to have a welcoming home and a good time of fellowship. We had a birthday party Saturday, which though not as organized as I had hoped and tried to plan, was a fun time for all. Never mind that I had not finished decluttering my counter and was still decorating the cake when guests arrived. I and my home are works in progress!

  6. april says:

    great job! I have to do some cleaning like that between now and next week since we are having a party

  7. Hosting a playdate is my favorite motivation to clean! Looks great!


Leave a Reply

