Hot Spot Check Up 5: Kitchen Island

Here’s the picture for today:

Not great, but of course it has been much worse.

I generally like to keep things light around here, but I have to tell you that I’ve had a tough day today. I’ve been feeling really overwhelmed.

I’m doing  a little better now. I’ve been praying about it all – that is so good for me. My sweet husband is a great encouragement to me, too. And I had some chocolate cake and tea (see pictured above).  Now I need some much needed rest. And I do have hope for tomorrow. Starting with right priorities, then one bite at a time, one step at a time. And not in my own strength.

16 Comments on “Hot Spot Check Up 5: Kitchen Island”

  1. Kathlynn says:

    Great post tonight. I’m right there with ya!

  2. Abigail says:

    I’m so sorry you’ve had a tough day. But you are handling it in all the right ways. You can do it!! And if you can’t – It’s OK! God has your back and he’s got you covered.

  3. Jan says:

    I hope you feel better soon. 🙂
    Jan

  4. Have you ever heard of Sarah Mae’s 31 Days to Clean eBook? Looks like something that would interest you. 🙂 We are going through it right now on Homemakers Challenge (dot) com. 🙂
    Looking forward to connecting with you through our Hello Mornings group!!

    • Hi Christin! I actually have that eBook (I got it free from some promo), but I have only skimmed it a little. I was thinking it was something where I would do one project each day, but when I looked at it that way, I knew it would be too much for me. I think I would need to spread it out to 31 weeks! I’ll have to check it out again. 🙂

  5. Hugs and prayers, Elizabeth!

  6. Kimberly says:

    Lots of hugs and prayers here, too…

    Chocolate.

    Yesterday at co-op we had a map skills scavenger hunt. the kids were to find goodie bags (with a bit of candy)… Would you know that some squirrel got into 2 of the bags and took only the chocolate kisses? Must have been a “girl squirrel”.

    8)

  7. Jill M says:

    I’m praying for you Elizabeth. This morning, Psalm 84:11-12 brought me comfort. At the end of the day, I want to say, “I trusted in Jesus and His goodness today, not in myself, and not in what I think He needs to give me. But in the fact that He holds me, and that means I’m going to be okay.”

    • Thanks, Jill. That’s great stuff. I read 2 Corinthians 1: 3 Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, 4 who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.
      🙂

  8. mairsydoats says:

    Love to you, of course, and glad things are looking up!

    In looking at your island (and how generous you are, to let us look into your life and make comments!), I’ll make an observation…

    I see a bunch of things that look like they’re in the middle of staging – and then see a couple of things that almost always show up there when it’s “messy.” If the island is the best and most logical place for the kleenex and the cup of office supplies to live, why don’t you just purposefully keep them there? Let yourself off the hook for their living there if that’s really where they should live, hmh?

    Just food for thought. And I’ll go home and take a look at my own hotspots to see the things that need adjusting in where I think they ought to go.

    • Oooo I love getting your observations. That’s a good point about the tissues and office supplies, but I don’t really *want* that to be the best place. Your thoughts really have me thinking, though. Must contemplate more….
      Thanks!

      • WilliamB says:

        Go with the flow. Why make it even harder for yourself? Find something nice looking for those two things and let them live in the best place.

  9. WilliamB says:

    I’m sending good thoughts winging in your direction. A good night’s sleep makes many things seems more managable.

  10. Messy Wife says:

    I hope you had a good night’s sleep and your day went better.

    My recent thoughts has been, how else to better equip myself emotionally for the unpredictable (we just had a wide-spread power outage), it all goes back to praying and reading the Bible which I had been doing terribly lately… Thank you for your post.

  11. Tiffany C. says:

    Hey! That island ain’t bad at all! And I don’t imagine that cake sat there for long, it wouldn’t have in my house! So it was even cleaner than the photo!
    You asked recently what we want to see more of on here, and I have thought about it, and actually told my sister to start reading your blog, because I find your before / afters so inspirational! It doesn’t matter how long it took you to accomplish the task, but that I can see such a positive difference, if I choose to work as hard as you do, I can see the same in my home. I also really like when you share HOW, the step by step process of accomplishing the task, I really liked the “cleaning your tupperware” post, “sweeping the floor”, and the one you did about you and your husband’s different techniques of cleaning.

    You are such and inspiration to me. We are cut from the same cloth, so if you can do it, I can too!

    • Tiffany, i can’t even tell you how much I loved reading this!! Thank you so much!! That is EXACTLY the kind of feedback I was hoping for, You have inspired me to press on! I really needed that. I have a laundry post halfway done that will have some before and after pictures, so stay tuned!


Leave a Reply

