Hot Spot Check Up 2: Kitchen Island, and Thanks! (I’m talking to you!)

Time to check on the island! I decided that I would give myself a deadline and take a picture at 10:00AM today.

Just for fun, I took a picture last night at 10:00PM. Here it is:

Let's just say we really know how to fill up space around here.

And here’s today’s “official” picture:

Better than last night, not better than last week.

 On a happier note, I’m celebrating 6 months of blogging, and what I really want to say, is…

Thank You!

Thank you for reading!

Thank you for stopping by.

Thank you for commenting!

Thank you for your encouragement, your advice, your comradery.

Thank you for putting up with me!

I am blessed by you!

I have learned so much in these last 6 months of blogging, and you, dear readers, are a big part of what keeps me going! 

Thank you for sharing a piece of your life with me.  It means a lot.

What would you like to see in the next 6 months? Is there an area/topic you would love to see me tackle? I would be happy to hear if you have ideas or requests for future blog posts.

And if you want me to just keep trucking along doing my thing, that’s good too!

15 Comments on “Hot Spot Check Up 2: Kitchen Island, and Thanks! (I’m talking to you!)”

  1. Jan says:

    Happy six monthiversary!! I love your blog. I love the humanness of it all. You are so generous with your imperfections and share them with such humour that it makes my feel better about mine! When your blog comes up in my inbox I always read it right away. 🙂

    Cheers! Jan

  2. k says:

    thank you for your honesty… it is refreshing!

    too many blogs strive to be “perfect” and don’t feel “real”…. your’s does not fall into this category

    keep up the good work….

  3. See, I told you it wouldn’t be boring to have a weekly island picture. 🙂

    Happy six month-iversary! Yay you!

  4. V says:

    i too find myself reading quickly, because i see some of my own tendencies in yours. refreshing honesty. love it. happy 6-month anniversary!

    As to your question, I would love to see a post/series of pictures regarding what all you keep out on the kitchen counter-top surfaces….they are always in the background of the island pictures, and i think we might have some helpful reflections on how to also keep these spaces simple. For instance, I’m surprised you display kid artwork on the kitchen cabinets. I personally am less likely to clean inside my fridge when the outside of my fridge already looks cluttered. Feels insurmountable. Do you have one boring wall, maybe in the dining room, that could become the designated gallery? Would seeing all that white, empty space encourage you to keep other spaces clear? Personally, I’d love to see you take everything down from the cabinets, the ledges of the window, and the face of the fridge, and then only return necessities to the fridge. I have no idea if that would be helpful…and the best part is – if it’s a giant failure, you can put the stuff right back up! 😉

    as long as you keep being honest, i’m gonna keep reading! many, many blessings to all of us who are fighting the clutter wars, battle by battle.

    • Thanks, V! I will plan to tackle the rest of the kitchen! It all needs help! I’ll see if I can handle taking down the pictures and finding another place for them. You are not the first to mention this idea to me! 🙂

  5. holly says:

    I love reading your posts!!! Keep up the great work!

  6. Kimberly says:

    Well, happy 6th months!! Yay!
    Here’s to many more! 😉

  7. amy says:

    ok I found your blog from the frugal girl and I have to say I LOVE IT! ihave 4 kids and my hous looks JUST like yours and it gave me a real pick me up of lack of better words every ones house is sooo nice and mine well not so much I have started sweeping like you THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!! and it feels so goodI used to sweep just like your before!

    I would like to see more blog post maybe 1 a day like kristin from frugal girl! no matter what they are just to let some of use know we are not the only ones

  8. Messy Wife says:

    Happy half-anniversary! Which reminds me, I started around 6 months ago too, except that, I post totally randomly and discipline-less 🙂 Like others have commented, the one thing I love to visit you often is your being real. Real mess, real (decluttering) work, real life. I am often motivated to work in my own house after visiting your blog. Thank you!

  9. Jill M says:

    I really love your menu plan posts. When you first told me about your blog, I didn’t clearly see the connection between your decluttering and your menu planning, but it didn’t take me long to get it! Planning meals does SO much to simplify our lives (and your blog is ready set simplify, so it fits!)… it gives us time to do other things, reduces the waste (and therefore required decluttering) of our food, helps us plan healthier meals (which give us more energy to simplify/declutter), and saves us money. I’m getting so many ideas of new dishes, too, which is good because sometimes even when I DO plan out our menu, I’m still stuck in the same old menu ideas. This has all around been so helpful to me… thanks!


Leave a Reply

