Hot Spot Check Up: Kitchen Island

I do love my kitchen island.

And I love to put stuff there.

Lots of it.

Everyone does. If you came over, I bet you would put something there.

It’s a big clutter hot spot for me. It’s a nice big flat space and it’s just out of the reach of our 1-year-old. It’s a  great work space. It’s just begging you to put something there.

The problem is that too many somethings are put there and not cleaned up and put in their proper place, and then other somethings get put on top of those, and so on and so forth…

The status of my island makes a big difference in how my home looks and feels. My post Island Watch 2011 gives a pretty good summary of how bad the island gets – with pictures of piles of clutter.

I am going to post a picture of my island every week for the next four weeks (I think every Wednesday) to help me keep it under control. It looks like it might work, because I stayed up last night and cleared it off.

So here’s a picture of the kitchen island today:

Other Updates:

  • The kids and I picked up the kitchen and living room, we swept the living room, and the kids picked up the basement/play room/family room themselves. Yay!
  • I still need to clean out the fridge and finish the kids’ clothes project.
  • I still need to go through those “hiding” baskets and boxes of clutter. My goal is to get through one basket by Monday.

What is your worst clutter hot spot right now?

16 Comments on “Hot Spot Check Up: Kitchen Island”

  1. Jan says:

    Right now my worst clutter hotspot is our office/sewing room! It has become a catch-all for emergency de-cluttering all over the rest of the house. (We had a wedding a couple of weeks ago.) I’ve decided the only way to tackle it is to make it worse before it gets better – and empty the closet… My biggest challenge will be to make sure that things don’t migrate to other parts of the house, unless they are put away.

    I love your blog! It makes me laugh.
    Jan

    • I totally agree with the getting worse before it gets better thing and emptying a space to declutter and organize! Weddings are a crazy time for sure!

      Thanks for the encouragement! I’m glad to have you here!

  2. Barbara says:

    My “formal” dining room table! It’s long, fits 10 people, and is just the right size to DUMP everything on. This includes: laundry to fold; piles of folded laundry to go upstairs; the dog’s box of odds and ends; laundry basket of balls of all sizes; a magazine holder with 6 issues of WAY old mags; a tupperware container of stubby pencils and old pens; school uniforms.

    Every day, my to-do list includes “Clear Dining Table.” And at 10 PM, it’s never cleared. I think there’s a clutter magnet underneath that draws the clutter to the top and won’t let it go! I hate it! It’s also right along the main drag hallway where visitors can spy as they walk by to the kitchen!! I need a weekly photo to hold myself accountable!

    Great job on the counter!!

  3. Abigail says:

    Our worst spot is the home office. That paper clutter is SO hard!!! It is our catch all space. We keep the vacuum and lots of random things in that room. It’s just so easy to close the door and not look at it.

    • Kimberly says:

      Amen! I am right there with you!

      Elizabeth– your island looks sooo awesome! You are really doing a great job! I love how the kiddos are getting into the action! You inspire me!

  4. WilliamB says:

    I have 3 constant clutter spots. There’s the side counter in the kitchen (mail, newspapers), the daybed in the living room (laundry, mending), and – of course – desk. At least 2 of 3 are always in some state of disarray. On my less compulsive days I am content to keep the clutter down and don’t expect perfect emptiness. On other days I am aggravated at the constant work it takes to keep the clutter down and that it never is actually gone.

  5. Sarah Godwin says:

    When I finally conquered the kitchen table clutter, the island became a problem. I worked hard and improved it, but never really got it under control. Then we moved and I no longer have an island, so my problem became a large section of kitchen counter top. It is my best work space, as well as in close proximity to the table, and it is nearly impossible to keep clear. I am working on it and it is improving a bit almost every day. Putting something pretty in the middle helps motivate me to keep it cleaned up, like the fruit basket on your island. That is what helped me clear my cluttered table, as well.

  6. Mr. RSS says:

    I love my RSS Sweetie! She rocks MY island.
    -Mr. RSS

  7. YAAAY! It’s an island picture! 🙂

  8. Karen says:

    I found your blog through the frugal girl. its nice to see that other people have clutter problems like I do.

    my clutter hotspots – was the office – but have decluttered since reading your blog
    and my breakfast bar (bench above kitchen bench). it collects everything – rubbish from kitchen, hairtyes, kids toys, old batteries, indoor plants the kids grandparents have given them. I also keep my water cup there, but I have to stop doing that.

    I will endeavour to clean it up once a week, like you. I guess I better turn the computer off & go do it then.

    thanks for the inspiration – Karen from QLD Australia.

  9. Stacey says:

    My clutter hotspot is the dining table. It is just in the right place to dump stuff on when you come in. I always manage to clear a space to sit down and eat, but rarely manage to have a nice clear table.

    As we have guests for dinner the next two weekends, I MUST get it cleared. Most of the stuff will probably migrate to the desk in the office, the top of which can’t actually be seen because of all the books and paper on it. Sounds like a second clutter hotspot.

  10. Debbie T. says:

    My dining room table is a hot clutter spot. As a matter of fact, so is the kitchen table. I think I will try to clear the dining room table this weekend. Sit down dinners are oh so nice. And, you are not alone. I have baskets that are hiding too.

  11. Messy Wife says:

    My hotspot has always been my desk and the area around it! Of course, it is worse in our current home because it is right where the entry way (from the garage, to be exact) is – so easy to leave whatever I have on my hand from outside/car/mailbox right there! I should probably make a plan to do something about it too. But wait, where should I make that plan with my desk so cluttered…

  12. Megan says:

    I don’t know if you read Small Notebook, but she did a post a few days ago about room with lots of stuff in them still looking orgainzed and inviting and the tip was having clean horizontal spaces, like you island.
    It looks great and I tape my kids art to my cabinets too. In my case, it improves them. 🙂


Leave a Reply

