Menu Plan for the week of 8/7 – 8/13

I love summer!

How last week’s menu went:

I stuck very closely to the planned menu! In case you have been on pins and needles wondering what I decided to do with those pork chops, I cooked them on the stove instead of the grill, and made Drunken Pork Chops. I got the idea from the menu Laura@OrgJunkie posted, which linked to the recipe with lots of pictures that Newlyweds posted. Newlyweds originally found the recipe from Siggy Spice. I just love to give everyone credit! I served it over mashed potatoes. My family loved it and I will be making it again for sure.

Favorite meal from last week:

This is a tough one because it was a very yummy week. I’m going to choose the  BBQ Chicken Pizza (I use less chicken, and a mix of Gouda and Mozzarella cheeses), served with that watermelon up there.

Today’s motivation for menu planning:

Planning and shopping once a week saves me time! Making a grocery shopping list and actually looking at it while you are at the store helps, too!

This Week’s Menu Plan

Sunday:

  • leftover night

Monday

  • Meatloaf (I prefer to use petite diced tomatoes in this recipe)
  • sweet potatoes
  • green beans

Tuesday – dinner guests 🙂 Better get cleaning!

Wednesday

Thursday

  • Pizza: one Buffalo Chicken pizza (I use a bit less of the chicken and blue cheese dressing. You must use Frank’s Hot Sauce if you want it to be right) and one regular cheese pizza with this crust (I double the recipe and use 1 cup of whole wheat flour)
  • Raw veggies and dip

Friday

Saturday

Other Updates:

  • I hate to admit this, but the kitchen Island is now half covered. Must. Battle. Clutter.
  • There is progress happening on the kids’ clothes/dressers/closets! Stay tuned.

I’m linking up with OrgJunkie’s Menu Plan Monday.

9 Comments on “Menu Plan for the week of 8/7 – 8/13”

  1. See? I told you that you needed to post a weekly kitchen island picture!! Add that feature, missy. 😉

    It’s like me with food waste…I need to have the weekly accountability of sharing a picture with the whole world.

    • OK. Does anyone else want to chime in on this idea?

      I’m still a little worried that it will be exceedingly boring. Although I guess it makes it a little more exciting that there’s clutter on there, right? 😉

      • WilliamB says:

        We can scroll on by if we’re bored.

      • Elizabeth, my dear, the weekly photo would be for YOU, not for us. 😉 I don’t post my food waste because I think it will entertain my readers, I post it because *I* need the accountability.

        It’s not like the island picture would be in place of another post…it could just be a quick photo every week.

        I really think it could work like my Food Waste Friday posts work…I’m way more motivated to use up my food when I know I have to show my waste to other people, and you may be more motivated to keep your island clean if you know you have to show it to us every week.

        And if you end up having weeks of clean island pictures in a row, then you can always set that feature aside (at that point, keeping your island clean might be a habit).

  2. So glad you guys enjoyed the Drunken Pork Chops, they are my husband favorite. And that pizza look amazing.

  3. Kathlynn says:

    The island is only HALF cluttered! Brava!! Great job! BTW, I have a proposition for you: I’ll share some leftover goulash in exchange for some leftover meatloaf… whaddya think? Let me know. I have a feeling it’ll be around a long time and I sort of have a thing for cold meatloaf sandwiches… with Miracle Whip… and (gulp) ketchup. I can’t help it – it’s true!

  4. […] stuck to the planned menu for the most part. We did not have the taco salad because we did a leftover night instead. It was […]


Leave a Reply

