Hey, hey, hey! There are menu plans today!

I started menu planning in 2006. I had just had our second baby, I was doing the stay at home mom thing, and someone who was helping us with our budget (much-needed at the time) told me I needed to menu plan because our food/grocery spending was out of control. I think it was around $200-$250/week at that time.

I was pretty overwhelmed at the idea of planning an entire menu ahead of time every week, so I did some searching and started with Menus4Moms. At the time, she was doing a free menu plan each week with recipes and a grocery shopping list (she now charges a fee and has several different plans). It was just what I needed at that time to get started and I learned a lot about cooking and menu planning there.

I’ve been doing it on my own for a while now, but I am not always consistent. Lately, I’ve been kind of loosey-goosey with it and that causes me to go grocery shopping more often and spend more money than I would like. It also can be stressful when I’m not sure what I’ll be making for dinner each night. The disorganization doesn’t help with my problems with wasting food, either!

Soooo I’ve decided that I will try to do real week-long menu plans and only go grocery shopping once a week. I’m also trying to pay attention to what I already have on hand, and use things up that need to be used before they go bad/expire. Oh yes, and I’m also trying to eat healthier and cut down on processed foods. And I’m trying to simplify the whole process, too! Menu planning helps with that for sure.

Last week was my first week, and it went very well! (And by the way I spent about $125, including non-food grocery items, which I’m very happy with!)

Here’s my menu plan from last week, with notes of any changes:

Sunday: Homemade Pizza (I double it and use part whole wheat flour)- one pizza with cheese, and one with pepperoni and banana peppers, raw veggies & dip

Monday: Shepherd’s Pie, cantaloupe (I was going to do a green salad, but didn’t)

Tuesday: Curried Chicken Divan (with broccoli) served over brown rice (my daughter requested this meal)

Wednesday: Hearty Lentil Soup (a Cook’s Illustrated recipe that I modify a little), cherries

Thursday: Tuna Salad Sandwiches, raw veggies

Friday: Spinach Artichoke Pasta Salad (see picture above) This was the first time I made this as the entrée instead of a side dish.

Saturday: Quiche and fruit salad Leftover night! (This was Mr. RSS’s idea. He loves leftovers. He’s a good boy. I wanted to bail out and go to Chick-fil-A! )

And now my menu plan for this week:

Does this picture not say "Foodie Blog wannabe?"

Sunday: Fresh Tomato Basil Pasta with Feta (See the picture above: I used free organic cherry and grape tomatoes that we got from an event with Mr. RSS’s work and basil from our garden! ), corn on the cob

Monday: Grilled Rockfish with grilled veggies, brown rice

Tuesday: London Broil Steak Salad  (I won’t follow the recipe exactly)

Wednesday: Roast Chicken, green beans, potatoes

Thursday: West Indian Rice and Beans (new recipe I’m trying), salad

Friday: Chicken salad or BBQ chicken pizza – can’t decide!

Saturday: Leftover night 🙂

Do you menu plan? Making anything fun this week? 

I’m linking up with Menu Plan Monday at orgjunkie.com. Check out the gobs of menu plans you can find there each week!

15 Comments on “Hey, hey, hey! There are menu plans today!”

  1. LOL–I am RIGHT in the middle of my plan for this week….and my post to link up to the same blog you are linking too…. LOL Better get to it!

    One great thing I am doing is saving the leftover green salads I make to put into “wraps” for the next day…I have in the past wasted so much leftover salad. duh. How easy would it have been for me? LOL

  2. WilliamB says:

    I don’t menu plan, exactly. About once a week I make a list of receipes I want to use. Usually they’re recipes that use something I want to use up, and anything else needed goes on the shopping list. I keep this list on my kitchen counter so it’s always handy. It’s dinner only and I don’t worry about assigning days to meals. I also have a few go-to recipes for odds and ends, you’ve seen a few at The Mrs’ blog: fritatta, domburi, stir-fry, soup.

    On a related note, I hesitate to call it “a routine” but about once a week (typically Saturday morning) I go through the fridge to see what there is to eat, what needs to be used up, and what needs to be tossed (sob). Then I pick dishes to make, update the shopping list, and check coupons. If I’m really on the ball I extract the coupons I want to use when I go shopping that weekend.

    • WilliamB says:

      PS: I should point out that these sorta-routines work much better if one, I actually do them and two, I actually cook the meals I planned for. The past few weeks? Not so much.

  3. Nickeletta says:

    Wow! Your husband eats leftovers? I’ve heard of men that will eat leftovers, but I don’t know any personally…
    the spinach artichole pasta salad looks wonderful!

  4. Kimberly says:

    Your food looks divine!! 8)

  5. Barbara says:

    Really great menu plan! I try to menu plan, but there are days I throw a plan out the window and head out to eat! Having to cook for 3 picky eaters and a calorie phobic husband makes making dinner a less than pleasurable experience. I’ll have to check out that linky party !! Maybe there’ll be something that will appeal to the masses here at home.

  6. Abigail says:

    Dear Hubby and I menu plan for every shopping trip although we also don’t assign meals to days of the week. Our refrigerator gets almost completely empty by Friday.

    And we always plan leftovers!

  7. I like your pasta salad picture…good light! 🙂 And good for you on the menu planning too. I hate the process but love the results.

  8. Nancy says:

    Re: West Indian Rice and Beans – It may contain rice and beans, but we call it rice and peas.

  9. I always do menu planning. I am a Registered Dietitian and learned how to do it in school. The hardest thing about cooking is deciding what to cook! It also helps that the kids know what’s for supper and so does the hubby, so if he gets home before me, he can start it! (That’s reason enough!)

  10. visiting from MPM. That pasta salad looks wonderful!


Leave a Reply

