Weekly Cleaning Schedule – Week 1 Report + cake

Are you ready to hear how my first week or so of having a cleaning schedule went?

This is a condensed version of the cleaning schedule I was attempting:

Monday – Friday
– unload dishwasher
– 1 load laundry
– 15 min a day(timed) cleaning/decluttering  in 1 room or area: 
– 5 min. (timed) focused on paper clutter
Saturday
– unload dishwasher
– 1 hour of cleaning/decluttering in needed areas
Sunday
– unload dishwasher

Here’s the story. I started the week by making a handy-dandy document with the cleaning schedule  and the ability to keep track of what I was accomplishing. Great, right? But then I couldn’t print. We’ve been having printer issues. So I decided to use a handy-dandy piece of scrap paper to jot down how I was doing instead.

Here’s how it went:

(I put the successful cleaning days in bold!)

Saturday: I really meant to do it!

Sunday: Dishwasher unloaded in the afternoon + a load of laundry!

Monday: I did it all!!! The 15 min. of timed cleaning was spent in the kitchen

Tuesday: OK, I know I did the dishwasher, and then I lost my scrap piece of paper(Grrrr), so the rest is from memory. I think I did everything on this day, too!   

Wednesday: nope

Thursday: ummm, hi.

Friday: Unloaded the dishwasher, did some cleaning for sure but forgot to time myself, no on paper clutter, yes on laundry

Saturday: Super busy day because we were celebrating all of the spring birthdays(kids) in the family at my house. So we had 7 adults and 4 kids here in the afternoon/evening. Dishes were unloaded, and there was certainly lots of cleaning, Mr. RSS and the kids did most of the cleaning because I was still finishing this My Little Pony cake: 

Rainbow Dash

For this little birthday girl:

Happy Birthday, Ella!

Sunday: Dishwasher unloaded, check!

Monday: found my scrap paper on the island, 1 load of laundry and that’s it for cleaning. Fun day with friends at their community pool, though. : -) 
I also want to add on this Memorial Day, that I am so thankful for those who have fought for my freedom. So thankful.

My 97 yr. old grandfather (a veteran), helping little Anna

So I accomplished my goals 50% of the time for my first week. I’ll take it! And the good news is that Mr. RSS fixed the printer, and now I have my schedule posted on the refrigerator! And now I’m off to eat a piece of cake…. Yum. Cake.

I linked this post up with Life As Mom’s Birthday Cake Round-up!

11 Comments on “Weekly Cleaning Schedule – Week 1 Report + cake”

  1. Chelsey says:

    You’re off to a great start! Habits always take a while to form, right?

    I love that pony cake!!! (and what a cute birthday girl!) Would you take an order for a pony cake in November?!?!

    Your Grandpa looks like so much fun!

    • Thanks for the encouragement, Chelsey! Thanks for the compliment on the cake, too! 😀 I have a feeling a pony cake wouldn’t do so well in transit from my place to yours, though! 😉

      My grandpa is pretty amazing, actually. At age 97 he still goes to the gym about 3-4 times a week, he has a strong faith in God, and he is very witty! In fact, I have 2 pretty amazing grandpas, I just don’t get to see the other one as much.

  2. Farm Girl says:

    I would say you accomplished a lot this past week. You created wonderful memories for your birthday girl and the whole family, from grandpa to the baby are smiling.

    Good Job!

  3. Sarah Godwin says:

    Sounds like a healthy balance to me! Good start. Also, beautiful job on the cake. That would make any little girl happy!

  4. WilliamB says:

    Baby steps! It’s all about baby steps. Keep doing what you did this week and you’ll be far ahead of where you were 6 months ago.

    And (except for the actual subject matter) that is one fantastically-decorated cake. No wonder the birthday girl looks impressed.

  5. Jess says:

    I say job well done 🙂 on the cleaning schedule AND the cake! That cake looked almost too good to eat!

  6. Messy Wife says:

    Really like how you put everything down and committing to it! You’ve done a lot, plus you did all these work with making an amazing cake! You are quite an inspiration. I probably should get off the computer and finish the morning dishes… 😀

  7. I use scrap paper for lists alllll the time. Simple and free. 🙂

  8. Gah! I totally forgot to say that you did a marvy job on the cake. 🙂

  9. […] Leave a comment » Remember how I was working on a weekly cleaning schedule? I even posted an update of the first week. Well, I thought it would be good to post an update as it’s been almost a month since my […]

  10. Megan says:

    Truly Fabulous Cake!


Leave a Reply

