Weekly Cleaning Schedule – First Try

I have something of a love-hate relationship with schedules. My personality is more spontaneous and fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants, yet I find that schedules and structure really help me. In fact, I think as I get older, I crave structure and planning more.

In the comments on my last post, Barbara gave an example of her daily cleaning schedule. I loved the simplicity of it, and decided to try something like it for myself.

I’m trying to write down key tasks instead of cluttering everything up with things that I will do anyway even without seeing it on a list. I think I have a tendency to write down too many things on my schedules and “To Do” lists.

Do I really need to put “make lunch” or “put Anna down for a nap” or “spend too much time on the computer” in my schedules and “To Do” lists? No! I will do these things without the reminders!

I think I do this because I want my lists to represent all the stuff I do in a day, so that I feel like I’m getting more done. And of course it feels good to cross things off a list! But then if I am looking at a huge list of things to get done, I get overwhelmed, and important items in the list get lost in the sea of list-stuff. So, of course, I need to simplify.

So here’s my first try at a weekly cleaning/decluttering schedule. I’m sure it will need some adjustments, but I am trying to make it simple and attainable. I have “unload dishwasher” every day right now, because I am really trying to make that a habit, but I think once it comes naturally to me, I could take it off the list.

Actually, I’m not sure that any type of cleaning will ever come naturally to me, but I can dream, right?

Monday – Friday

– unload dishwasher

 – 1 load laundry

– 15 min a day(timed) cleaning/decluttering  in 1 room or area: 

Living Room
Kitchen
Master Bedroom
Kids Bedroom 
Nursery
Bathrooms
Basement

– 5 min. (timed) focused on paper clutter

Saturday

– unload dishwasher

– 1 hour of cleaning/decluttering in needed areas

Sunday

– unload dishwasher

I’ll be sure to let you know how it goes! I love your input and ideas as usual!

8 Comments on “Weekly Cleaning Schedule – First Try”

  1. Jan says:

    That is a cool list! I do the exact same thing as you – put things I would do anyway on my list so I can have the pleasure of crossing them off. I hate when I can’t cross anything off and it looks like I didn’t do anything, when in fact I may have been busy all day.

    But your list is different because it is more about your goals, and setting habits. It’s like you’re setting priorities because the other stuff is not the problem, this is. I also loved how gentle you are with yourself and the paper clutter – five minutes, timed. That is awesome.

    In fact, I have to say, I really love your blog! It’s one of my favorites. 🙂

    Jan

  2. Abigail says:

    I had to laugh at putting “spend too much time on the computer” on your list! I could put that on my list too. I might also include: “procrastinate starting non-fun list items” (untimed)

    I do think it’s an awesome idea to keep the list attainable.

    • I’m so with you on the procrastinating. In fact, I usually procrastinate by going on the computer – for “just a minute” of course! But I’m not procrastinating right now, nooooooooo.

  3. I think that’s a great list, Elizabeth!

    I was late reading your other post because of being gone, but I thought your ideas were good, and I also think the idea of unloading the dishwasher right away is a fabulous plan. I unload mine at breakfast every day so that I can put dishes in it throughout the day instead of letting them pile up. Life is better that way!

  4. Jackie says:

    I love your idea of simplifing the list. I too fall into wanting to put everything down on the list and then when I look at I feel overwhelmed by the list of things I need to get done. I think I am going to try taking off the items I do anyway without reminders and simpify my lists this week.


Leave a Reply

